Just For Today…

It’s been awhile since I posted anything about Reiki. While Reiki is a big part of my life and my spiritual development, I have found that it is more difficult to write about than yoga, self-care, meditation, or other aspects of wellness largely because if you haven’t been attuned to Reiki energy, then you won’t be able to put any tips I give into practice. However, after giving this a little more thought, I don’t think this is entirely correct. See, even if you haven’t been attuned to Reiki, there are still some elements of the practice that are applicable to everyone: the Five Reiki Principles.

Yes, just like yoga has eight limbs, Reiki has an associated five principles. These principles aren’t so much connected with the actual channeling of the energy (for instance, during a treatment session) as they are with living a balanced, Reiki-inspired life. That is, they can serve as guidelines for our lives. What I most like about the Five Reiki Principles is that not only are they simple and easy to remember, but the wording (at least in the ways that I see them translated into English) emphasizes a positive choice rather than a prohibition. I’ll list them below (as they’re translated according to the¬†International Association of Reiki Professionals website) and you can see what I mean.

“Just for today:

  1. I release angry thoughts and feelings.
  2. I release thoughts of worry.
  3. I’m grateful for my many blessings.
  4. I practice expanding my consciousness.
  5. I’m gentle with all beings, including myself.”

Wow. Aren’t those lovely? It doesn’t matter how many times I’ve read them or repeated them over to myself; they will always be beautiful and fresh. The thing that always strikes me when I say these aloud is the very first three words: “Just for today.” I know that I personally get overwhelmed with all the changes I want to make in my life and in my person: eat healthy food, practice more yoga, meditate every day, don’t gossip, be compassionate, accept myself for who I am, and on and on the list goes. It’s easy to feel buried under the weight of the changes I want to implement, trapped beneath the neverending list of “shoulds” I impose upon myself. However, the Five Reiki Principles dial it back a little bit. They keep things simple. They keep things in the here and now. Emily’s first line tends to read, “Always and forever from here on out,” but the Five Principles are gentle: “Just for today”. Just for today? That sounds doable. Much less overwhelming!

So, similar to what we’ve been doing with Patanjali’s Eight Limbs of Yoga, we’re going to spend the next couple of months also discussing these Five Reiki Principles. While I can’t personally attune you to Reiki (I’m not a master yet and I’m not there with you in person), it is my hope that exploring these principles together will help you to feel more connected to the practice of Reiki and perhaps even spark an interest to start your own Reiki journey. We’ll start the week after next with the first principle, so until then I encourage you to spend some time reading these aloud to yourself and really reflecting on them. It might even be neat to write down in a journal what thoughts come to mind so that when we finish our discussions, you can look back and see what might have changed and what progress you may have made.

I’ll see you in two weeks, and remember: go easy on yourself. Take it one day at a time — just for today.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: